Club News

Emma

Emma

Fri 11 Nov 2011

Montrose 2 Peterhead 1

Blue Toon keeper Paul Jarvie will want to forget this game after his unfortunate error helped Montrose come from behind to beat the Blue Toon.

Jarvie allowed the ball to slip from his grasp on the greasy artificial pitch at Links Park, and Sean Pierce took advantage to set up Martin Boyle for the winning goal after 66 minutes.

The Blue Toon had taken the lead through Rory McAllister after just 11 minutes, but Pierce had also provided the leveller for midfielder Terry Masson just before the interval.

Still without a permanent manager following the departure of John Sheran, Charlie Duncan was again in the dugout with senior players Barry Sellars and Martin Bavidge assisting from the pitch.

The Peterhead side was unchanged from that which had drawn with Queen's Park a week earlier, only the second time this term the same side had started consecutive matches.

That statistic may provide a clue as to the uncertainty around the club at the moment, but that was a distant memory as the Blue Toon took the lead early on.

Aaron Conway found McAllister with a lofted ball down the channel, and the former Brechin man worked space for himself in the area before powering a right foot shot past Montrose goalkeeper Michael Andrews.

Montrose rallied, and Peterhead had Jarvie to thank for a fine save from lively striker Martin Boyle's angled effort after 17 minutes, and from former Blue Toon man Dougie Cameron's corner, the goalkeeper dived superbly to block Jonathon Smart's powerful header.

Peterhead could have doubled their lead when Conway's free kick from the right found the head of McAllister, but the striker saw his effort come back off the upright. The loose ball fell back to the feet of the striker, but he failed to keep his second effort down.

But the home side drew level four minutes before half-time. Pierce drove down the right flank and pulled the ball back across goal for Masson, who arrived in the area to lash past Jarvie to level the scores.

Ryan Strachan came on at the interval in place of Sellars, and his midfield partner Scott Ross threatened twice in the space of a minute early in the second half.

But as the rain began to fall, it was the home side who suddenly looked more comfortable. Indeed, Boyle's persistence saw him get the better of Callum Macdonald after 61 minutes, but his shot found only the side netting.

That was a warning shot for what was to come five minutes later. Jarvie came off his line to smother what seemed a harmless ball down the channel, but the ball squirmed out of his grasp and allowed Pierce to square for his strike partner who gratefully accepted the gift.

Such an error was symptomatic of Peterhead's luck over the last year or so, and coming after his saves had kept the Blue Toon in front in the first half, spoiled what had until that point been a good afternoon's work for the goalkeeper.

The Blue Toon never really recovered from that and despite throwing on strikers Dave Ross and Garry Wood with 15 minutes remaining, Andrews was not put under any further pressure.

With two weeks before their next game due to the international break, Peterhead will hope an appointment can be made to the manager's post in order to steady the ship and begin the recovery from what has been a nightmare start to the season.

MONTROSE: Michael Andrews, Paul Lunan, Dougie Cameron, Jonathon Smart, Alan Campbell, Jamie Winter, Stephen McNally, Terry Masson, Martin Boyle, Sean Pierce, Steven McPhee (Scott Johnston,  82). Subs not used: Jonathan Crawford, Sean Crighton, Sean Kelly, Sandy Wood (gk).

Booked: Lunan.

PETERHEAD: Paul Jarvie, Davie Donald, Lewis Davidson, Callum Macdonald, Jamie Bishop, Scott Ross, Graeme Sharp (Dave Ross, 74), Barry Sellars (Ryan Strachan, 46), Rory McAllister, Martin Bavidge, Aaron Conway (Garry Wood, 74). Subs not used: Dennis Wyness, Raymond Jellema (gk).

Booked: Donald, S.Ross.

Attendance: 359

A resilient Blue Toon team came from a goal down to earn a point against Queen's Park at Balmoor.

Less than 24 hours after the club announced the departure of John Sheran, experienced striker Martin Bavidge teamed up with former Fraserburgh boss Charlie Duncan, now part of the Youth & Community department at Balmoor, to lead the team against the Spiders, who have been a bogey side for the Blue Toon over the years.

And their selection may have raised a few eyebrows, with five changes made. Perhaps the most surprising was the return of Paul Jarvie, making his first start of the season, in place of Raymond Jellema.

Striker Garry Wood dropped to the bench, while Roy McBain, Jamie Redman and Bryan Deasley all dropped out through injury.

There was a late change to the starting eleven as Alan Rattray, initially selected in place of McBain at left-back, pulled up in the warm-up, to be replaced by Lewis Davidson.

But despite the changes, Gardner Speirs' side had goalkeeper Neil Parry to thank for keeping the scores level after just eleven seconds. The Spiders kicked the match off and angled a ball out to the left wing, but Davie Donald nodded away.

Aaron Conway picked up the loose ball and sent a fine pass up the inside-right channel for Rory McAllister, who steadied himself only for Parry to block his effort.

It was to be an entertaining affair, and the Amateurs responded with a Martin McBride free kick which clipped the outside of the post after a Barry Sellars' foul.

Peterhead threatened again when a Conway corner was headed towards goal by Callum Macdonald, only for Ricky Little to clear. The ball came back to Macdonald who lifted a pass to Rory McAllister at the back post, but he was off target with his acrobatic effort.

Back came the visitors, and they even had the ball in the net as Peterhead finally got some of the luck they've been missing over the last eighteen months.

David Anderson's ball into the box seemed to be handled by Jamie Bishop, but drew no response from referee Mat Northcroft. The ball broke to Michael Daly who saw his ball across goal turned in by David Murray, only for the winger's effort to be ruled out by the linesman's flag.

Anderson himself was denied from the edge of the box as the Spiders worked the ball in from the right flank, but the midfielder saw Jarvie comfortably hold his effort.

Peterhead might have had a penalty of their own as McAllister was seemingly hauled to the ground by Little, and shortly afterward, Bavidge slipped in Scott Ross who saw his shot well saved by Parry.

As the home side continued to press, McAllister picked out Davidson in the area, but the young full-back blazed over.

Just before the interval, Murray chased down McBride's deflected shot, and shot from a narrow angle, but Jarvie reacted quickly to smother the effort.

But the goalkeeper was beaten seven minutes into the second half. McBride swung a superb ball in to the back post, where Ian Watt barely had to jump to nod through the legs of Jarvie and into the net.

Where Peterhead have so often crumbled this season, they instead pushed forward in search of a leveller.

Davidson's cross from the left just after the hour was met by Bavidge, but his header looped over the crossbar.

But the left flank was to provide the goal.  Bishop lofted a ball to Sharp, who cut inside onto his favoured right foot and picked out McAllister with a fine cross.

The striker saw his brave diving header saved, but Bavidge was well placed to force the ball over the line, despite the challenge of James Brough.

It could have been in vain as, within a minute, Jamie Longworth saw his snap-shot beat Jarvie but crashed back off the upright.

But Peterhead pushed forward again and a move started by Scott Ross, who grew into his midfield role, saw Sharp cross for Bavidge, but his header was comfortable for Parry.

The goalkeeper was tested again with 81 minutes on the clock. Sharp's diagonal pass found McAllister who cut back for a diving header by substitute Dave Ross, but Parry parried away the effort and Brough completed the clearance.

In the final minute, a long ball from Peter Bradley saw substitute Craig Smith seem to outpace Davidson, but as the striker took aim at Jarvie's goal, the defender got across well to clear for a corner.

It may not have been a win for the Blue Toon, but there were certainly positive signs as the hunt for a manager who can revive seemingly flagging promotion hopes begins.

PETERHEAD: Paul Jarvie, Davie Donald, Lewis Davidson, Callum Macdonald, Jamie Bishop, Scott Ross (Ryan Strachan, 79), Graeme Sharp, Barry Sellars, Rory McAllister, Martin Bavidge (Dennis Wyness, 79), Aaron Conway (Dave Ross, 60). Subs not used: Garry Wood, Raymond Jellema (gk).

QUEEN'S PARK: Neil Parry, Paul McGinn, Peter Bradley, Ricky Little, James Brough, Martin McBride, Ian Watt (Craig Smith, 84), David Anderson, Michael Daly (Tony Quinn, 90), Jamie Longworth, David Murray (Sean Burns, 79). Subs no used: Paul Gallacher, Adam Strain (gk).

Attendance: 478.

PETERHEAD - SCOTTISH FOOTBALL LEAGUE THIRD DIVISION Sat Jul 27 Ramsdens Cup 1 Sat Aug 3 S.F.L. Cup 1 Sat Aug 10 Annan Athletic H Wed Aug 14 England v. Scotland (Friendly) Sat Aug 17 Stirling Albion A Wed Aug 21 Ramsdens Cup 2 Sat Aug 24 Elgin City H Wed Aug 28 S.F.L. Cup 2 Sat Aug 31 East Stirlingshire A Fri Sep 6 Scotland v. Belgium Sat Sep 7 Ramsdens Cup 3 Tue Sep 10 Macedonia v. Scotland Sat Sep 14 Queen's Park H S.F.A. Cup 1 Sat Sep 21 Montrose A Wed Sep 25 S.F.L. Cup 3 Sat Sep 28 Albion Rovers A Sat Oct 5 S.F.A. Cup 2 Sat Oct 12 Clyde H Sun Oct 13 Ramdens Cup Semi-Final Tue Oct 15 Scotland v. Croatia Sat Oct 19 Annan Athletic A Sat Oct 26 Berwick Rangers H Wed Oct 30 S.F.L. Cup 4 Sat Nov 2 S.F.A. Cup 3 Sat Nov 9 Elgin City A Sat Nov 16 East Stirlingshire H Sat Nov 23 Queen's Park A Sat Nov 30 Montrose H S.F.A. Cup 4 Sat Dec 7 Clyde A Sat Dec 14 Albion Rovers H Thu Dec 26 Stirling Albion H Boxing Day Sat Dec 28 Berwick Rangers A Thu Jan 2 Elgin City H Sat Jan 11 East Stirlingshire A Sat Jan 18 Montrose A Sat Jan 25 Queen's Park H Sat Feb 1 Annan Athletic H Sun Feb 2 S.F.L. Cup Semi-Final Sat Feb 8 Stirling Albion A S.F.A. Cup 5 Sat Feb 15 Clyde H Sat Feb 22 Albion Rovers A Sat Mar 1 East Stirlingshire H Sat Mar 8 Elgin City A S.F.A. Cup 6 Sat Mar 15 Berwick Rangers H Sun Mar 16 S.F.L. Cup Final Sat Mar 22 Annan Athletic A Sat Mar 29 Queen's Park A Sat Apr 5 Montrose H Sun Apr 6 Ramsdens Cup Final Sat Apr 12 Clyde A S.F.A. Cup Semi-Final Sat Apr 19 Albion Rovers H Sat Apr 26 Stirling Albion H Sat May 3 Berwick Rangers A Wed May 7 S.F.L. Play-Off Semi-Final (1) Sat May 10 S.F.L. Play-Off Semi-Final (2) Wed May 14 S.F.L. Play-Off Final (1) Sat May 17 S.F.A. Cup Final Sun May 19 S.F.L. Play-Off Final (2) Fixtures are subject to change. Compiled in association with Atos.

Wed 05 Dec 2012

Interview: Ross Jack

Sat 17 Nov 2012

Post-Match: Jim Duffy

Sat 06 Oct 2012

Interview: Ian Little

Page 10 of 25